Enough is Enough

When is Humanity Going to Get That We’re All in This Together?

Jesus Never Existed

Posted by honestpoet on February 18, 2007

Here’s a great link for facts about the real history of the Judeo-Christian religion.

13 Responses to “Jesus Never Existed”

  1. As Stephen Mitchell points out, “If it wasn’t Jesus who said these things, it was (as in the old joke about Shakespeare) someone else by the same name”!

  2. honestpoet said

    Heartyheretic, I agree that the words (most of them, anyway) spoken by the character of Jesus in the biblical stories are worth listening too. (Too bad most Christians don’t actually live by them).

  3. honestpoet said

    And as far as it having been someone else, that doesn’t follow logically at all.

    Stephen Mitchell is a Christian, so I find his logic suspect. Religious people want to believe untruths so badly that they don’t even see the faults in their own thinking.

    There’s plenty of evidence that the early Christians did not believe in a historical Christ, but saw Christ as a symbol. It wasn’t until a few generations later that the gospels were written and the myth of a historical Christ was born.

  4. Stephen Mitchell’s also a Taoist in a sense, and I think he sees Jesus in somewhat the same light as Lao Tzu: a master teacher is somewhere behind these words, no matter what the myth is. In the case of Jesus, Mitchell believes (and I agree) that some of the parables taught by Jesus (or whoever) are absolute gems of spiritual teaching, namely the Prodigal Son and the Good Samaritan. Highly doubtful that such lucidity was the work of a committee, or–God forbid!–a well-intentioned, but somewhat dull Paul. Real or not, the words are worth considering, perhaps even taking to heart. Too bad that most Xians don’t.

  5. Bill said

    Honestpoet,

    There is amazing evidence for the Bible and Jesus’ existence. The problem is you’re choosing to supress that truth, because you want to live your life of sin.

    Have you ever told a lie? Have you ever stolen anything? Have you ever taken God’s name in vain? Jesus said that if you’ve looked at a woman with lust, you’ve committed adultery with her already in your heart. Have you looked at someone with lust? If you’re honest with yourself, you know you’re guilty of breaking all of those.

    This is the standard God is going to judge you with on Judgment Day whether you believe in Him or not. He’s going to judge every thought, word and deed. God is infinitely holy and just, and He has to punish sin wherever it is found. Hell is His place of punishment, and it is what I deserve, along with every other rebellious person on this Earth, including you.

    Every person that’s ever lived will glorify God on Judgment Day. I’m going to glorify Him, because He’s going to show me amazing mercy. Most people will glorify Him, because He’s going to give them the justice they deserve with eternity in hell. I hope that you’ll repent, so that he can show you mercy, too.

    I tell you this, not to make you mad, but because I care about where you spend eternity. Go through the Ten Commandments, and realize how guilty you are. If you’re really interested I can show you some of the evidence for the Bible.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  6. honestpoet said

    Heartyheretic, you’re right that Mitchell is more a mystic than a fundamentalist, but I see all religion as a virulent meme that’s better off discarded. Reality is wondrous enough, and learning how to deal with it will mean the difference between the survival or demise of our species.

    Bill, you are so bamboozled. Don’t waste any neurons worrying about my eternal soul. You need them for digging yourself out of your delusion.

  7. HP–I hope you don’t mind me adding this to the thread. This one’s for Bill: There’s a whole other list of criteria Jesus said God would use on Judgment Day…and I wish more Xians would take it to heart. Read Matthew 25:31-46.
    “When he finally arrives, blazing in beauty and all his angels with him, the Son of Man will take his place on his glorious throne. Then all the nations will be arranged before him and he will sort the people out, much as a shepherd sorts out sheep and goats, putting sheep to his right and goats to his left.
    “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Enter, you who are blessed by my Father! Take what’s coming to you in this kingdom. It’s been ready for you since the world’s foundation. And here’s why:
    I was hungry and you fed me,
    I was thirsty and you gave me a drink,
    I was homeless and you gave me a room,
    I was shivering and you gave me clothes,
    I was sick and you stopped to visit,
    I was in prison and you came to me.’
    “Then those ‘sheep’ are going to say, ‘Master, what are you talking about? When did we ever see you hungry and feed you, thirsty and give you a drink? And when did we ever see you sick or in prison and come to you?’ Then the King will say, ‘I’m telling the solemn truth: Whenever you did one of these things to someone overlooked or ignored, that was me—you did it to me.’
    “Then he will turn to the ‘goats,’ the ones on his left, and say, ‘Get out, worthless goats! You’re good for nothing but the fires of hell. And why? Because—
    I was hungry and you gave me no meal,
    I was thirsty and you gave me no drink,
    I was homeless and you gave me no bed,
    I was shivering and you gave me no clothes,
    Sick and in prison, and you never visited.’
    “Then those ‘goats’ are going to say, ‘Master, what are you talking about? When did we ever see you hungry or thirsty or homeless or shivering or sick or in prison and didn’t help?’
    “He will answer them, ‘I’m telling the solemn truth: Whenever you failed to do one of these things to someone who was being overlooked or ignored, that was me—you failed to do it to me.’
    “Then those ‘goats’ will be herded to their eternal doom, but the ‘sheep’ to their eternal reward.”

  8. David said

    I think it’s an established historical fact that Jesus did in fact exist. This kind of stuff doesn’t get told about people who don’t exist. It would be like saying that Buddha or Muhammad never existed.

    You may not believe what the Bible claims what Jesus was all about but you would be hard pressed to find a historian who didn’t believe that Jesus was an actual historical person.

  9. honestpoet said

    You’ve GOT to be kidding.

    Here’s the wikipedia article on the historicity of Jesus, which I think should be considered unbiased. It acknowledges that a small minority of historians believe that Jesus never existed. And actually they all acknowledge that there’s no PROOF of Jesus’s existence, they just make the same lame argument that you do, that people wouldn’t say it if it weren’t true.

    Well that’s hardly the case. History is strewn with crap people have believed, even died over, that was nothing but imagination. We just watched a show on dragons. There are plenty of people on the planet who STILL believe they’re real. Man’s ability to believe what isn’t true, with his whole heart, boggles the mind.

    Face it. What you believe and have based your worldview on could very well not have an ounce of truth to it.

    Considering how toxic religion is and how much strife is caused over all this crap, don’t you think it’s time to put all this in the past and try to forge a future where we all share the planet as earthlings, in it together?

  10. nodar said

    honestpoet is very right. If you wanna watch a great movie dealing with the subject watch Zeitgeist (part 1). I think it gives more than enough evidence you need to see how the myth of Jesus was made.

  11. honestpoet said

    Reading Joseph Campbell will show plenty, too, about how various myths were recycled into the Christ story.

  12. Jaymz said

    Love your forum . . . you are all doing the whirled a grate service. The fools don’t get it. They take their myths to be real. Jesus is nonsense of course. Patriotism is rubbish. The internet is helping us shine light into the dark dirty corners of human psyche. How’s that for poetry?
    Jaymz

  13. Jaymz said

    Just noticed . . . no activity since 3Q7

Leave a Reply

 
