Enough is Enough

When is Humanity Going to Get That We’re All in This Together?

My Plan for Poetry

Posted by honestpoet on February 24, 2007

I’ll say hello
to the world
and make her
my friend

then tell her
with the utmost tact
and compassion
to please

please

take her beautiful, beloved head
out of her fetid
thought-blocking
bottom.

2 Responses to “My Plan for Poetry”

  1. mumbaiKar said

    A warning note to a poem I had once posted read.

    Eat your words quietly
    Stop playing with them
    Arranging them into cute
    little poems.

    I think of it everytime I read poems in any Blog.

    Anyway, no warning ever stopped me from doing what I wanted to and enjoyed.

    I also enjoyed your poem.

  2. honestpoet said

    Thanks for the warning, and the kind words. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    I’ve posted poetry in enough workshops to have a thick skin. I’ve also gotten plenty of rejection notices, but I’ve published enough poems to have adequate confidence to share my work here.

    BTW, I’m only posting poems I don’t plan on submitting for publication. That’s an issue here in North America. A lot of the best markets won’t consider poems that have been “published,” even in a blog.

    Good to meet you. I’ve never known anyone from Mumbai.

Leave a Reply

 
