Enough is Enough

When is Humanity Going to Get That We’re All in This Together?

A Calf with Two Tongues & Two Noses: Pesticides Suspected Cause

Posted by honestpoet on April 18, 2007

Ugh. Don’t look at this unless you’re not squeamish. It’s a video of a calf born in Costa Rica with a mutation the vets there believe was caused by pesticides. The poor thing has two tongues, two noses, and a severely truncated jaw. It’s owner fears it won’t be able to chew, though who knows? Life usually wants to stay badly enough that it can often make do with a flawed vessel.

Either way, I think we need to seriously rethink our use of these chemicals.

ps — Don’t think that John McCain ad up top is any sort of endorsement from me, though he’s not at the bottom of my list, at least.

20 Responses to “A Calf with Two Tongues & Two Noses: Pesticides Suspected Cause”

  1. whig said

    Who is at the bottom of your list?

  2. honestpoet said

    So far, it’s Romney. You ought to have been able to guess that one, Whig!

    How’ve you been?

  3. whig said

    I’m good. I have trouble conversing here because of the moderation delays. Feel free to stop by and chat at my blog anytime.

    The Republican party is in full melt-down. I really recommend that people abandon it. If you don’t want to do that, Ron Paul is the only Republican candidate I could treat with some respect. This administration has been a rather clear demonstration of the failure of Republican government. Democracy seems a better choice, and those who stand in the way of it are likely to find themselves on the wrong side of a very large tidal wave, so seek elevation at any rate.

    Which brings me back to…understanding highness.

  4. I think I’ve seen that grotesque calf, on the news in Mexico. Well, it was similar, in that it had a third eye in its forehead. We were treated to this view during the morning news program.

  5. honestpoet said

    Lovely!

    You know, these pesticides have only been in use since after WWII, and they were developed during the war to be used as nerve gas.

    So then we decide to put them on our food?!? I think it’s time to call chemical farming a failed experiment.

    Hi Whig, sorry about the delays, but considering the central issues here, I can’t leave it open. I’d have to clean up too much. I will stop by cannablog soon.

  6. honjii said

    Poor thing.
    So much for intelligent design.

  7. honestpoet said

    Yeah, huh? Seems like someone who’d make this’d have to be a bastard.

    Which is why I choose atheism. I’ve always felt it’s better to have no relationship than a hateful one.

  8. whig said

    I see no need for hatred. Even those who do evil justify themselves in some fashion, and when they learn what they have done, they ask forgiveness.

  9. honestpoet said

    Hardly, Whig. There are plenty of people who die unrepentant.

    And I was talking about a relationship with God. If I were to believe that god existed, and was all powerful, no amount of theology would let me forgive him for all the suffering that exists.

  10. whig said

    So if God came here and said he was truly sorry, and that he suffered along with all that suffer, would you be able to forgive or what would you say to him?

  11. honestpoet said

    I’d tell him he was a bastard and a fool.

    The fact is, Whig, he doesn’t exist. Theologians have tied themselves in knots trying to explain how an omniscient, omnipotent, loving creator could have landed us here. But there’s no getting around it. In the end, they all cop out with God’s ways being mysterious.

    The only thing mysterious to me is why folks cling to these old stories.

  12. whig said

    I’m not debating the existence of God with you, HP. We’ve been over it. I responded to what you said, that you would not forgive him if he exists. So you have called him a bastard and fool, and now what? If God existed and was here right now, what would you ask him to do?

  13. honestpoet said

    Whig, that’s a ridiculous question to pose to an atheist.

    However, if such an impossibility were to occur, I’d ask HER to open everyone’s eyes to the truth of the interrelatedness of all life.

  14. whig said

    Perfect. Thank you. It shall be done.

  15. You know, looking at that video actually makes me think that it was imperfect twinning – an incomplete Siamese twin, if you will. It reminds me a bit of the Hensel twins, and, of course, there are plenty of twins who are born more fully intertwined.
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/femail/article.html?in_article_id=425736

  16. Monte said

    Hello dear friend, forgive me for being slightly off-topic, but came across these Jeffers quotes in Wikiquote that seem on-topic for most discussions. I don’t include them here to make a point; I just enjoyed them and brought them to you as a thanks for piquing an interest in Jeffers in me.

    “You ask what I am for and what I am against in Spain. I would give my right hand of course to prevent the agony; I would not give a flick of my little finger to help either side win.” – Responding to a pamphlet Writers Take Sides (1938) by the American Writers League, which asked: “Are you for or are you against Franco and fascism?”.

    “That public men publish falsehoods
    Is nothing new. That America must accept
    Like the historical republics corruption and empire
    Has been known for years.
    Be angry at the sun for setting
    If these things anger you.”
    Be Angry At The Sun (1941)

    All the best,
    Man with Two Tongues and Two Noses (Religion suspected cause)
    (Back-story: Fearing godless perversion, Alabama outlaws cohabitation of creatures with multiple tongues or noses)
    PS: screwed up my html in previous comment; please delete it – sorry!

  17. honestpoet said

    I love these, Monte. Thanks. (And for the laugh!)

    That second one hits home for me. I’m not sure I agree with him. I’m also a humanist, where he was what he called an inhumanist.

    I really do believe that we can do better. And if America doesn’t do it, with the benefit of our Constitution, no one will.

    What’s needed is a new paradigm. One that exalts the human as we exist in potential, not in reality. When people choose to be good, and good all the time, the result can be nothing short of wonderful. But it takes work, and humility, and practice.

    And we need to repeal the decisions, questionably arrived at, that granted corporations 14th-amendment personhood and the protections it affords. That’s when fascism became really possible, when corporations no longer had to be transparent. They’re free to funnel money into government, and it’s corrupted everything, from the practice of medicine to the production of our food to the development of our emissions-spewing infrastructure to the prohibition of cannabis. And the inception of way too many wars.

  18. whig said

    Corporations are not born, they do not suffer, they cannot die. Immortal and without compassion, accountable only to shareholders, not to their own workers, concerned only with making money and not at all with making a better world.

    No, corporations are just fine.

  19. MattC said

    Likely not pesticides. Simply, deformities like this ARE rather commonplace in nature/livestock. Though it’s great to blame pesticides/capitalists/republicans etc.

  20. honestpoet said

    Did I blame republicans? I think ag-business has got both parties in their pockets.

Leave a Reply

 
