Enough is Enough

When is Humanity Going to Get That We’re All in This Together?

Apologies for my Unannounced Absence

Posted by honestpoet on May 24, 2007

I just wanted to apologize to anyone who might’ve missed my posting for the long silence.

To be quite honest, I had fallen into a deep depression. I’ve changed my medicine (about a week ago) and am feeling much better.

In the process of digging myself out (the medicine is like a shovel, but you still have to do the work), I’ve been working out in the garden. Last year it was really neglected (I was just as depressed, but it was completely untreated), but this year I’ve done quite a bit more, and it’s just looking gorgeous. There’s still so much work to do, so I’m pretty sure I’m not going to be posting very often.

There have been some changes in our lives but I’m not ready to write about them yet. We’re all well, but we’re taking someone into to our family who really needs some love and support. It’s been quite a journey so far. I’m not sure where it’s going to lead. But I feel good about it.

5 Responses to “Apologies for my Unannounced Absence”

  1. Monte said

    Way to go. I, too, struggle with depression and anxiety, partly of the varieties brought on by years of whopping ADHD. Paxil and Adderall and neurotherapy are my somewhat-despised friends. But I will gladly live the rest of my life with them rather than return to where I was before. Glad you could hit the garden and rest. I’ve been walking a couple of miles a day this spring while changing dosages; more walking on mowing days. Reminding myself it helps – no, not enough to be worth it – yes, enough, go on – perhaps you know the drill.

  2. homeyra said

    Glad to have you back, and sorry about your ordeal. These days it seems that the only healthy state is to be depressed. How can anyone be other than that?
    Trying to “re-order” the chemicals is one thing, but I doubt if it will deeply satisfy a searching soul.
    I hope all will be well and we’ll hear soon from you.

  3. honestpoet said

    Thank you both for your kind words and wishes.

    You’re right, Homeyra that the world’s sorrow does make it hard to find equilibrium if, like me, you’re not willing to turn a blind eye to it. But it does help to at least give one’s brain chemistry a fighting chance.

  4. I’ve spent this past year recovering from depression combined with panic. Gardening sounds like a wonderful balm for your illness. Sunshine and activity. Go easy on yourself. Doing what you enjoy, that’s what’s important. It’s always the sensitive folk who get hit the hardest. If it’s any consolation, most creative types suffer from a mood disorder.

  5. Miche said

    that the world’s sorrow does make it hard to find equilibrium if, like me, you’re not willing to turn a blind eye to it.

    And this is why my husband tells me to give up trying to spread the message of freedom. He is apolitical and tells me that I will drive myself batshit crazy or slump into a deep depression if I continue paying attention to the stupid world outside of our happiness.

    I really do have the most beautiful husband, but he is happy with me regardless of the world. I have this deep-seated opposition to allowing the world to run over our happiness and I’m fearful of every Bible thumper, fear mongering politician, or busybody who tries to run roughshod over it.

    I want you to be well Honest Poet, but I don’t think it will happen soon. There’s too much sadness right now.

Leave a Reply

 
