Enough is Enough

When is Humanity Going to Get That We’re All in This Together?

Let’s Get Rid of Guantanamo

Posted by honestpoet on September 21, 2007

Here’s Amnesty International’s page about their campaign to “86” the illegal facility there.

I’ve personally had one of the most stressful weeks since my father passed away 15 years ago. But at least it’s ending happily. And I’ve got a new kitten. More on all that later.

6 Responses to “Let’s Get Rid of Guantanamo”

  1. Gitmo is perfectly legal and humane.

  2. honestpoet said

    Not according to something I just read in the current edition of Columbia Journalism Review. Where do you get your information, exactly?

  3. Monte said

    Nice! I signed the petition gladly.
    Surely “Chris Roach” is a spoof. Even Colin Powell wants it shut down.

  4. Mr. Roach said

    Reading the relevant treaties and looking at the objective facts, such as weight gain or the prison system in various American states.

  5. honestpoet said

    That weight gain involves feeding tubes being forcibly shoved down people’s nostrils while they’re on hunger strike. Doesn’t count for much, not to me or anyone interested in human rights, which you clearly don’t understand.

  6. honestpoet said

    And thanks, Monte. I even got my husband to sign that one. (He’s a Republican, btw, though he’s voting Democrat in the next election — he’s very disappointed in the party right now, being a fiscal conservative and a libertarian on personal-freedom issues. I’m registered as an Independent, but I’m probably voting for Obama or Clinton, myself.)

Leave a Reply

 
