Enough is Enough

When is Humanity Going to Get That We’re All in This Together?

I’m Ashamed Somedays to Be an American; Thanks, Mr. President

Posted by honestpoet on December 19, 2007

I know that’s a sarcastic title, not exactly in the holiday spirit, but this just makes me sick. (Thanks to my friend Monte for this find.) It’s a clip (and an article to go with it) of an ex-CIA agent admitting that he participated in “enhanced” information-gathering techniques (read: torture), and that the order came straight from the White House.

I’m just sick at the thought of this being done in my name. I DO NOT ENDORSE THIS! And I can’t believe that anywhere near most Americans do, no matter how much they’ve been manipulated to do so by shows like 24 Hours that imply that it’s somehow “necessary” (or effective, for that matter) to stop terrorism. It’s neither. And even if it were, the ends simply never justify the means. Torture is always wrong. Good people, and good nations, don’t do it.

14 Responses to “I’m Ashamed Somedays to Be an American; Thanks, Mr. President”

  1. izzy99 said

    Vote wisely in the coming election. Look for a candidate that shows compassion and empathy for other human beings. If the right person gets elected, one that knows how to use diplomacy and find alternative solutions to global issues, we might just be able to one day be proud of our government.

  2. Monte said

    Yeah, let’s shout it in the streets. Once nationalism ascends, moral exceptions – human rights exceptions – are made on grounds of contribution to national supremacy; fascism follows close behind.
    Nationalism, ironically, is the enemy of freedom.

  3. honestpoet said

    I’m voting for Kucinich. I believe he’s the best suited to the job. He’s the first politician I’ve seen in my life (or read about) who actually exhibits common sense.

  4. honestpoet said

    Monte, I’m afraid we’re too late to prevent the rise of fascism here, but I’m hoping we can reverse it.

  5. Michael said

    We can reverse it and we are reversing it, I hope. What we write here and do about it ourselves matters as much or more than elections.

  6. honestpoet said

    Well, I hope so, Michael, because from the looks of it, if I do get to vote for Kucinich, it’s not going to count for anything but a protest vote. Unless something really drastic happens that knocks the front-runners out of the game.

    And I’m not going to throw away my vote. The last two elections have been too close.

    I agree, though, that in some ways the only way that we’ll be able to reverse the fascism we’ve got is if we leave the politics to the politicians, and just get down to making the changes that need to be made. Of course, I’ve always held that in a capitalist society, the vote that really counts is the one we make with our capital.

    How we spend our money makes change (and I’m not talking about coins in the pocket). Choosing to purchase what comes from sustainable production (whether in housing, energy, manufacturing, or agriculture) is how we’ll survive. Not waiting for the government to legislate sustainable production. There are plenty of entrepreneurs who are trying to provide goods and services sustainably. It’s up to us to stop shopping the way we do, even if it means choosing to have/consume less because you have to pay a little more.

  7. Michael said

    I’m not sure we need to maintain the emphasis on capitalism, and I’m quite sure we don’t stop changing what needs to be changed regardless of how elections go.

  8. honestpoet said

    It’s not about an emphasis on capitalism, it’s about working within the reality in which we find ourselves.

  9. Michael said

    We have to operate within constraints, but reality is subject to amendment.

  10. honestpoet said

    It is, but I don’t see anything better than capitalism presenting itself. If business is both environmentally sound and violates nothing as far as fair trade or human rights goes, then why not capitalism? It’s irresponsible capitalism, where the consumer doesn’t worry about the source of what they’re consuming, that’s the problem, not capitalism in and of itself.

  11. Michael said

    I think you should look at gift economies, like WordPress. Did you notice that this is an open source platform? Even the hosting they provide is gratis and is all about building a community — and yes, they are capitalistic to a large extent but there are purer examples, like Ubuntu. Right now, in the present day reality, we must all be concerned about paying our bills somehow, but if the means of doing so changed, we would not be unable to organize society well.

    I’m not advocating one particular solution, by the way, although I could talk to you about some ideas, but the point is we as a society can choose to evolve, indeed, we must evolve if we will survive for much longer.

  12. honestpoet said

    What you’re neglecting to acknowledge about Ubuntu is that someone (Mark Shuttleworth) actually made a lot of money and then helped fund it. Ubuntu is great, and I’m thankful for all open-source products (did you see Maj’s poem in Python?), but it’s also a less-than-pure example, if you consider money-making to be automatically corrupting.

    I don’t. I just feel there’s good business and bad business. (I’m not the only one.)

  13. Michael said

    I don’t so much neglect that as recognize that he built on the open source Debian platform. Again, money isn’t inherently evil, but the love of money leads to bad outcomes.

  14. honestpoet said

    Really.

Leave a Reply

 
