Enough is Enough

When is Humanity Going to Get That We’re All in This Together?

McCain’s Spiritual Advisor is a Nut Who Wants Holy War

Posted by honestpoet on October 3, 2008

Here’s a scary video for you. This guy is a total nut. (He’s also quite wrong about the founding of America, btw, since our founders were actually Masons who, as their iconography shows, are very sympathetic to Islam.) At one point he says, in a frenzy, that “we were created for the conflict; we get off on warfare.” That sounds a lot more like Constantianism than Christianity to me.

9 Responses to “McCain’s Spiritual Advisor is a Nut Who Wants Holy War”

  1. Karl Marx was so right when he said religion is the opiate of the people.

  2. Rick said

    Let’s see just how honest a poet you are. You publish your video on jOctober 6, 2008.

    Did you take the 2 minutes it required to find out that this as published in May, Columbus Dispatch:

    In repudiating Parsley’s comments, McCain stated, “I believe there is no place for that kind of dialogue in America, and I believe that even though he endorsed me, and I didn’t endorse him, the fact is that I repudiate such talk, and I reject his endorsement.”[12] McCain further distanced himself from Parsley, stating, “I’ve never been in Pastor Hagee’s church or Pastor Parsley’s church. I didn’t attend their church for 20 years, and I’m not a member of their church. I received their endorsement, which did not mean that I endorsed their views.”[13]

    Thereafter, Parsley withdrew his endorsement of McCain’s candidacy.[14]

    ===============================================================================

    So, McCain didn’t actually attend the church and made it absolutely clear that he head no tolerance for “such talk.”

    Does that modify your eagerness to leave this video up, or does any of this matter?

  3. honestpoet said

    It elevates my opinion of McCain’s judgment only slightly. The fact that he appeared on the stage with him and praised him and repudiated him after the fact just goes to show how eager he is to court the Christian fundamentalist base, just like with his (probably at this point regretted) choice of Palin.

  4. Marianne said

    I got news for you. Obama’s Muslim supporters and pastor are already at war with us, for religious and racial reasons.

    marianne

    {URL of webpage removed…my blog won’t serve as PR for your ignorance-spreading palavering}

  5. honestpoet said

    Sigh.

  6. Rick said

    I will confess that I am surprised you left my comment up and even seem to acknowledge the content.

    Having moved one step together, let me take one with you: I am uneasy about the degree of influence that very fundamentalist elements of Christianity have in the Republican Party, and I have to admit that McCain’s willingness to appear with this fellow is problematic.

    I wish the Republicans would court the religious right somewhere from far less to none. I wish the Democrats would court the far-left elements somewhere far less to none. I can’t find anyone in this election who truly speaks for me. Sad, and frightening, at least to me.

  7. honestpoet said

    I read a while back a great book by that much-maligned former president, Jimmy Carter, *Our Endangered Values.* It was an eye-opener about the very moment the Southern Baptist Conference decided to ignore the first amendment’s anti-establishment clause and get involved in politics. Carter opposed it, and was ostracized for it (and since then has been vilified by them in order to make his protests fall on deaf ears). He went on to criticize the current administration for being quite unChristian in their policies, and he made excellent points.

    I was an independent for a very long time, but just registered as a Democrat. It’s not a perfect party, but it’s got a lot better chance of helping this country get back on track than the GOP. And Obama isn’t a perfect candidate, either, but he’s not a bad man, and he’s got the potential to be a great leader. If nothing else, I’m looking forward to having someone who has the sense to try diplomacy, the ability to listen to opposing views, the eloquence to inspire (and boy do we need some inspiration at this point), and the compassion to care about what happens to the little people. This is all quite different from what we’ve dealt with for the past eight years of an administration that McCain has voted and worked closely with.

    And of course I’d post your comment. The only ones I don’t post are the ones that are either abusive or so far out there that dealing with them would exhaust me. I appreciate diverse points of view. And I value freedom of speech. I just don’t bother when it’s clear that the other party doesn’t.

  8. sarah said

    I thank you again, honestpoet. Your voice is refreshing. The staggering tendency toward stereotyping is exhausting, on both sides of the political and religious divide. Christian or Muslim, Republican or Democrat–these all mean different things to different people, and exist in vast and varying shades. Diverse points of view, indeed! You’ve revitalized my faith in humanity a bit, when it was very much dwindling.

  9. honestpoet said

    It is exhausting. I just saw and commented after you at that other thread, where a Muslim woman (apparently, by her avatar) seemed to think that no one was asking this important question, “So what if he was an Arab?” No, we’re not all falling for the crap we’re being fed.

    I’m so glad the blogosphere exists…it’s not all good, of course, but it does allow us to address each other directly, which I believe, in the long run, is going to help us move forward and escape the divisiveness the upper echelons of power have used for eons to keep us at each others’ throats (leaving them on top).

    And if you want to have your faith in humanity bolstered further (oh, do I know that need), be sure to check out the music video a few posts to the right, titled “Yes We Can.”

Leave a Reply

 
